Punch News Today

Davido, Cobhams, others win big at Beatz Awards

dvido n co

The 2022 edition of the Beatz Awards was a night of pure entertainment, as entertainers who had done well were rewarded for their efforts.

The event, which held at The Muson Centre, Onikan, Lagos, was hosted by trio of comedians, Deeone, Phronesis and Saco.

Popular singer, Davido, won the ‘Best Songwriter Award’; while female disc jockey, and president of Choc Boi Nation, Olawunmi Okerayi, aka DJ Lambo, won the ‘Female DJ of the Year’ for the second consecutive time; while Blaise Beat won the producer of the year.

Respected singer and music producer, Cobhams Asuquo, was honoured with the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’.

Sliverbird Television was announced as the ‘Entertainment TV Station of the Year’, while MTV Base was named the ‘Entertainment Cable Station of the Year’. This was even as the award for ‘Afro Gospel Producer of the Year’ went to music producer, Samuel Giveson, aka SMJ.

Other awardees were Tosan Wilshare for ‘Best On-Air Personality’; Sean Okeke got ‘Best Artiste Manager of the Year’; TG Omori won ‘Best Music Video Director’ award, while YBNL was declared the ‘Best Record Label’. Boomplay won the ‘Best Music Streaming Platform’ award, and VTek won the ‘Best Mixing and Mastering Engineer’.

Emphasising the need to reward and encourage talents, the Chief Executive Officer of the Beatz Awards, Elijah John, said, “We need to recognise the talents behind the stars; those people who make these things happen. We want to educate the people about how rich the industry is, and how they can tap into the potential, even though they are behind the scenes.”

Source link