Punch News Today

FULL LIST: Super Falcons squad for WAFCON qualifiers


The Nigerian Football Federation has announced a 24-player roster for the Super Falcons’ first-round qualifiers for the 2024 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations.

The 2024 WAFCON will be the 15th edition of the biennial African women’s football tournament organised by the Confederation of African Football and it is scheduled to hold in Morocco.

Notable returns to the squad include Asisat Oshoala, Rasheedat Ajibade, and Chiamaka Nnadozie, who will represent Nigeria in the double-legged clash against Sao Tome and Principe.

Other players listed in the squad are Michelle Alozie, Christy Ucheibe, Toni Payne, Ifeaoma Onumonu, and Gift Monday. The inclusion of nine home-based players, including Onome Ebi, Esther Onyenezide, Flourish Sebastien, and Opeyemi Ajakaye, highlights the commitment to local talent.

However, absent from the list are Ashleigh Plumptre, Uchenna Kanu, and Francesca Ordega.

Nigeria will host Sao Tome at the Mobolaji Johnson Stadium on September 22 for the first leg of the encounter before travelling for the return leg four days later.

This encounter will mark the Super Falcons’ return to action since their participation in the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup, where they reached the second round.

Full list:

Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC); Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia); Monle Oyono (Bayelsa Queens)

Defenders: Onome Ebi (Naija Ratels); Akudo Ogbonna (Remo Stars Ladies); Comfort Folorunsho (Edo Queens); Oluwatosin Demehin (Stade de Reims, France); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Nicole Payne (Paris Saint Germain, France); Jumoke Alani (Edo Queens); Rofiat Imuran (Stade de Reims, France)

Midfielders: Peace Efih (Sporting Club de Braga, Portugal); Esther Onyenezide (FC Robo Queens); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Regina Otu (AS Saint Etienne, France)

Forwards: Flourish Sebastine (Bayelsa Queens); Ifeoma Onumonu (NY/NJ Gotham FC, USA); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona Feminine, Spain); Vivian Ikechukwu (Besiktas JK, Turkey); Gift Monday (UDG Tenerife, Spain); Chiamaka Okuchukwu (Rivers Angels); Opeyemi Ajakaye (FC Robo Queens).

Source link